Larry Spitznagel Technician of the Year

The 2023 Larry Spitznagel Technician of the Year award goes to MIKE BIRK!

Mike has worked for Midwest Equipment Company for over 10 years, and has always done whatever it takes to help the customer. From scheduling himself at 5am the next day, to picking up one more call on the way home. We have a couple customers that request Mike only because of his knowledge, experience, thoroughness, and “whatever it takes” mentality. He is patient with trainees and always excited to learn more. Mike is our Concordia coffee machine guru and has taught other technicians in a class at our facility. He often volunteers to work on Saturday, but says “if you’re gonna work me, work me! Give me about 8 hours” Mike is a hard worker, a joy to work with, and very deserving of the 2023 technician of the year award!

Please join us in congratulating Mike!

About the Larry Spitznagel Award

Larry Spitznagel was a Midwest Equipment Company Technician in the St. Louis-area who was loved by all and who lived to help others. He worked for our company from 1994 – 2017, and sadly passed away in early 2018. The Larry Spitznagel Technician of the Year award was instituted in 2018 to commemorate his honor and is awarded annually to the MEC Technician who shares his dedication to our company, his passion for helping others and who epitomizes our company values: Exceed customers’ expectations and to always exhibit honesty, loyalty & respect.

Previous Winners


Dan Starsiak


Carl Nelson


Jay Ordnung


Bill Hegger


Russ Rogers